En dépit d’un environnement politique tendu, en raison des incertitudes liées à la situation pré ou post-électorale sur ses principaux marchés, de l’instabilité et de la chute des prix des produits de base, de la poursuite du traitement des sinistres de l’exercice 2017, ainsi que des pressions exercées par les sinistres catastrophiques survenus à l’échelle mondiale, durant le second semestre 2018, Continental Reinsurance PLC enregistre des résultats opérationnels et financiers satisfaisants, pour l’exercice 2018.

La composition et la structure des bénéfices donne une indication des avantages liés à la diversification géographique des opérations du Groupe, qui lui assurer une certaine flexibilité dans la production de son chiffre d’affaires, lui permettant d’atténuer l’impact de la mauvaise sinistralité dans une zone donnée, grâce aux primes de meilleure qualité dans les autres régions, ainsi qu’à la diversification de la composition de l’actif et la bonne gestion des placements, contribuant à réduire la volatilité des bénéfices de souscription.

La bonne connaissance du marché et des cycles d’activité revêt une importance primordiale. Il s’agit de déployer la bonne stratégie et de veiller à un bon équilibre opérationnel. La Société dispose des compétences requises et d’une très bonne maitrise de la dynamique environnementale diverse du continent, alliant la très bonne connaissance du terrain avec de solides capacités techniques, pour obtenir des résultats durables, en ce qui concerne les activités de souscription et de gestion d’actifs, tout à la fois. Il convient de souligner que le Groupe, une fois de plus, a fait preuve de résilience, ses équipes étant parvenues à optimiser la production et à obtenir un rendement optimal pour les placements.

  • Notre Stratégie

    Nous sommes heureux de constater que les initiatives engagées depuis 2011, en vue du repositionnement de notre Société, ont commencé à porter leurs fruits. Nous nous efforçons de traduire en actes notre attachement de tous les instants à l’Afrique, en veillant à nous conformer aux meilleures pratiques internationales, en matière de prestations de services. L’orchestration des activités de renforcement des opérations régionales se poursuit, l’accent étant mis sur le renouvellement du réservoir de talents de l’entreprise, sur son offre de solutions, son modèle opérationnel, ainsi que ses processus de base et la technologie qu’elle déploie afin d’asseoir la présence de sa marque et sa proposition de valeur distincte, sur le marché africain en constante évolution et de plus en plus sophistiqué. L’objectif demeure le même, soit continuer de répondre aux besoins des différentes parties concernées, en faisant appel à la culture et aux systèmes permettant de devenir plus productif –en travaillant, non pas plus dur, mais plus intelligemment et en ciblant parfaitement les besoins de la clientèle.

    Les efforts de de création et de constitution des ressources de la filiale de la région CIMA ont été menés à bien. La voie est donc ouverte pour une très forte croissance, ce qui peut conduire, avec l’appui des actionnaires de base, à orienter davantage les efforts vers cette région. De la même manière, nous disposons d’un potentiel de progression important dans les régions de l’Est et du Sud, qui nous permettra de réaliser nos aspirations en matière de croissance.

    Ainsi qu’il ressort des rapports financiers et opérationnels, la Société continue d’enregistrer une bonne performance, affichant de bons résultats en matière de souscription et d’investissement. Grâce à des changements positifs des indicateurs clés et à une meilleure motivation des employés, elle est en passe de réaliser les objectifs du budget Alpha 2020, aussi bien en termes de chiffre d’affaires que de résultat net.

  • La Performance

    La performance enregistrée par Continental Reinsurance Plc, pour l’exercice 2018, est le fruit de mesures bien ciblées et d’une meilleure discipline en matière de souscription. Le montant de l’encaissement de primes brutes est passé de 29,67 milliards de Naira en 2017 à 34,19 milliards de Naira, soit une progression de 15%, tandis que le bénéfice de souscription a reculé de 9%, étant passé de 1,30 milliard de Naira à 1,18 milliard, durant la même période. Quant aux frais de sinistres, leur montant a augmenté de 0,6%, étant passé de 10,65 milliard de Naira en 2017 à 10,72 milliards de Naira en 2018.

    En dépit de la baisse constatée dans les résultats de souscription, par rapport à 2017, le bénéfice avant impôt, avec 4,36 milliards de Naira en 2018, a augmenté de 22% par rapport à l’exercice 2017 (3,57 milliards de Naira). Quant au bénéfice après impôt, il a enregistré une hausse de 34%, étant passé de 2,47 milliards de Naira à 3,32 milliards de Naira, sur la même période. De même, les revenus d’investissement et autres produits de placements affichent une progression de 44% en glissement annuel, leur montant s’étant établi à 5,35 milliards de Naira en 2018, contre 3,71 milliards l’exercice précédent.

    L’actif total a augmenté de 34% en glissement annuel, pour être passé de 43,13 milliards de Naira en 2017, à 57,64 milliards en 2018 ; dans le même temps, les fonds propres se sont chiffrés à 28,95 milliards de Naira en 2018, contre 20,78 milliards l’exercice précédent, soit une hausse de 39%.

    Par ailleurs, le portefeuille de placements enregistre une hausse de 23%, son montant ayant atteint 29,81 milliards de Naira, contre 24,31 milliards en 2017, tandis que les Réserves de réassurance affichent une progression de 29% (23,26 milliards d Naira, contre 17,97 milliards de Naira en 2017).

  • Les Perspectives

    Notre couverture équilibrée du continent africain contribue à alimenter notre dynamique de croissance. Elle renforce notre confiance dans notre capacité à continuer à progresser et accroître notre part du marché, en termes d’encaissement de primes et de rentabilité.

    Les prévisions de la Banque mondiale, relatives à une croissance de 3,4% de l’économie de l’Afrique subsaharienne en 2019, offrent de très belles perspectives à notre société. Notre positionnement sur le continent nous confère un réel avantage pour tirer profit des opportunités disponibles sur le marché. Ces prévisions auront pour effet d’augmenter les dépenses consacrées aux grands projets d’investissement dans les infrastructures, avec des retombées positives pour les activités d’assurance dans lesquelles nous jouons un rôle actif.

    Un des domaines auxquels nous accordons une attention particulière concerne le maintien d’une bonne performance en matière de souscription. Nous avons enregistré un important redressement des résultats de souscription à l’échelle du Groupe, et continueront de mettre l’accent sur le respect des directives énoncées en matière de souscription. Le respect de ces directives, allié à la mise en application de techniques avancées en matière de gestion, ainsi qu’au renforcement des compétences essentielles, contribuera à assurer la croissance et la rentabilité à court et à long terme.

Analysis of shareholdings

The issued and fully paid up share capital of the Company as at December 31st, 2016 was NGN 5,186,372,156.00 divided into 10,372,744,312 ordinary shares of 50 kobo each. The range of shareholding is as follows:

Range Holdings Number of Holders Holdings %
1 – 1,000 919 518,661 0.01
1,001 – 5,000 1,266 4,122,267 0.04
5,001 – 10,000 918 8,025,907 0.08
10,001 – 50,000 1,619 44,935,899 0.43
50,001 – 100,000 589 50,423,350 0.49
100,001 – 500,000 496 115,885,154 1.12
500,001 – 1,000,000 103 75,678,418 0.73
1,000,001 – 5,000,000 96 221,429,334 2.13
5,000,001 – 10,000,000 20 134,349,039 1.30
10,000,001 – 50,000,000 15 360,311,982 3.47
50,000,001 – 100,000,000 8 605,147,066 5.83
100,000,001 – 999,999,999,999 9 8,751,917,237 84.37
6,058 10,372,744,314 100

Share capital history

Authorised (NGN) Issued & fully paid up (NGN)
Date Increase Cumulative Increase Cumulative Consideration
Increase Cumulative Increase Cumulative
1985 10,000,000
1986 10,000,000 5,070,000 Cash
1987 10,000,000 3,730,000 8,800,000 Cash
1988 5,000,000 15,000,000 1,200,000 10,000,000 Cash
1989 15,000,000 2,450,000 12,450,000 Cash
1990 15,000,000 1,490,000 13,940,000 Cash
1991 15,000,000 1,060,000 15,000,000 Cash
1992 85,000,000 100,000,000 4,918,000 19,918,000 Cash
1993 100,000,000 10,934,000 30,852,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
1994 100,000,000 24,148,000 55,000,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 8)
1995 100,000,000 17,012,000 72,012,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
1996 100,000,000 6,197,237 78,209,237 Cash, Stock split (N1,000 to N1)
1997 100,000,000 200,000,000 36,317,763 114,527,000 Cash
1998 200,000,000 35,487,588 150,014,588 Cash and Bonus (1 for 10)
1999 300,000,000 500,000,000 29,985,414 180,000,002 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
2000 500,000,000 12,000,000 192,000,002 Cash
2001 500,000,000 63,598,223 255,598,225 Cash and Bonus (1 for 8)
2002 500,000,000 44,503,325 300,101,550 Cash and Bonus (1 for 6)
2003 500,000,000 1,000,000,000 103,565,104 403,666,654 Cash and Bonus (1 for 4)
2004 1,000,000,000 254,674,470 658,241,124 Cash and Bonus (1 for 9)
2005 1,000,000,000 2,000,000,000 198,566,308 856,907,432 Cash and Bonus (1 for 9)
2006 55,000,000,000 7,500,000,000 383,683,372 1,240,590,804 Cash
2007 7,500,000,000 3,945,781,353 5,186,372,157 Cash, Stock split (N1 to N0.50)
2008 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2009 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2010 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2011 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2012 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2013 5,000,000,000 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2014 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2015 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2016 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157

Notices & Documents

Notices of 32nd Annual General Meeting

Notices of Court Ordered Meeting

Scheme Document

Annual reports

2018 Annual Report and Account

Download

2017 Annual Report and Account

Download

2016 Audited Financial Statements

Download

2016 Annual Report

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Highlight

Download

Financial Statement (1)

Download

Financial Statement (2)

Download

2015 Corporate Actions for the Financial year ended Dec. 31, 2015

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Statement

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Statement

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Highlight

Download

Annual Report (1)

Download

Annual Report (2)

Download

Annual Accounts

Download

Unaudited quarterly results

Q1 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q2 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q1 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q2 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q3 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q3 Financial Statement (unaudited)

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Statement

Download

2016 financial statements with signed pages

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Unaudited Results

Download

Q3 Financial Statement

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Results

Download

Q3 Financial Statement

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Results

Download

Unclaimed dividend

2007 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2008 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2009 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2010 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2011 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2012 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2013 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2014 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2015 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

Continental Re Mandate Form

Despite heightened political environment caused by uncertainties from pre and post elections era in our major markets, instability and decline in prices of major soft commodity prices, continued development of 2017 claims and pressure from global catastrophe losses in the second half of 2018, Continental Reinsurance PLC turned out another good operation and financial fundamentals in year 2018.
The composition and structure of earnings reflect the benefits of the Group’s geographically diversified operations that give it flexibility in generation of top-line, enabling it to offset the impact of localized adverse claims experience with better quality premiums from other regions, and broad asset mix and investment management prowess, that smoothens the volatility of underwriting earnings.

Market and business-cycle insights are key. It’s about deploying the right strategy and having the right operational balance. We have resources with deep local knowledge of the diverse environmental dynamics across Africa who marry their insights with strong technical capabilities to achieve sustainable positive outcomes in both our underwriting and asset management activities. I must say that our Group has once again shown resilience with our teams optimizing production and maximizing return on investments.

  • Our strategy

    We are pleased to note that initiatives we took to reposition our Company since 2011 are bearing fruit. We strive to reflect our permanent commitment to Africa through continuous delivery of international best practice standards. The work of orchestrating the strengthening of our regional operations persists with a focus on continuous renewal of our talent base, our solutions offering, our operating model, our core processes and the technology we deploy, in order to embed the assimilation of our brand and our distinctive value proposition into the evolving, and increasingly sophisticated African market. Our goal to remain responsive to our stakeholders needs by putting in the culture and the systems to become more productive – not because we are working harder but because we are working smarter, and in alignment to our clients’ needs.

    We successfully completed the incorporation and resourcing of the CIMA region subsidiary. This opens up an avenue of enormous growth; hence. with the assistance of our core shareholders, we will be giving more focus to this region. We similarly have areas of substantial growth potentials in the Eastern and Southern regions, that will make our growth aspirations achievable.
    As evidenced by our financial and operations reports, we continue to show strong performance with strong fundamentals in underwriting and investment. With positive changes in key metrics and better motivation for our employees, we are very much on track to meeting our Alpha 2020 budget for both the top line and the bottom line.

  • Performance

    Continental Reinsurance Plc’s performance for the year 2018 reflects the outcome of targeted underwriting actions and increased underwriting discipline. Gross Premium Income grew by 15%, from NGN29.67 billion in 2017 to NGN34.19 billion in 2018 and the underwriting profit declined by 9% from NGN1.30 billion in 2017 to NGN1.18 billion in 2018. The company’s Claims expense grew by 0.6%, from NGN10.65 billion in 2017 to NGN10.72 billion in 2018.

    Despite the recorded reduction in underwriting performance compared to year 2017, profit before tax increased by 22% from NGN3.57 billion in 2017 to NGN4.36 billion in 2018 and an increase in profit after tax by 34% from NGN2.47 billion in 2017 to NGN3.32 billion in 2018. Investment and other income recorded a growth of 44% year-on-year from NGN3.71 billion in 2017 to NGN5.35 billion in 2018.

    Total assets grew by 34%year-on-yearfromNGN43.13billionin2017to NGN57.64 billion in 2018 while Shareholders’ fund increased to NGN28.95 billion in 2018 from NGN20.78 billion in 2017, representing a 39% growth.
    Investment portfolio grew by 23% to NGN29.81 billion in 2018 from NGN 24.31 billion in 2017 while Reinsurance reserves increased by 29% from NGN17.97 billion in 2017 to NGN23.26 billion in 2018.

  • Looking Forward

    Our coverage and well-balanced pan-African footprint has been sustaining our growth momentum. It strengthens our assurance in our ability to continue to record and achieve growth in market share of premium income and profitability.

    The growth prospects of 3.4% in 2019 for sub Saharan Africa’s economy envisaged by the world bank presents another great opportunity for us as a company. Our positioning across the continent has given us the lead to take the advantage available in the market place. The projection will propel upward spending on major infrastructure investment projects and this will have positive impact on insurance activities where we are an active player.

    One area of focus for us is the sustainability of good underwriting performance. We have seen a turnaround in our underwriting performance right across the group, and our emphasis on embedding and monitoring adherence to our underwriting guideline will continue. This, with advanced risk management techniques and critical skills development will ensure sustained growth and profitability in both short and long term.

Analysis of shareholdings

The issued and fully paid up share capital of the Company as at December 31st, 2016 was NGN 5,186,372,156.00 divided into 10,372,744,312 ordinary shares of 50 kobo each. The range of shareholding is as follows:

Range Holdings Number of Holders Holdings %
1 – 1,000 919 518,661 0.01
1,001 – 5,000 1,266 4,122,267 0.04
5,001 – 10,000 918 8,025,907 0.08
10,001 – 50,000 1,619 44,935,899 0.43
50,001 – 100,000 589 50,423,350 0.49
100,001 – 500,000 496 115,885,154 1.12
500,001 – 1,000,000 103 75,678,418 0.73
1,000,001 – 5,000,000 96 221,429,334 2.13
5,000,001 – 10,000,000 20 134,349,039 1.30
10,000,001 – 50,000,000 15 360,311,982 3.47
50,000,001 – 100,000,000 8 605,147,066 5.83
100,000,001 – 999,999,999,999 9 8,751,917,237 84.37
6,058 10,372,744,314 100

Share capital history

Authorised (NGN) Issued & fully paid up (NGN)
Date Increase Cumulative Increase Cumulative Consideration
Increase Cumulative Increase Cumulative
1985 10,000,000
1986 10,000,000 5,070,000 Cash
1987 10,000,000 3,730,000 8,800,000 Cash
1988 5,000,000 15,000,000 1,200,000 10,000,000 Cash
1989 15,000,000 2,450,000 12,450,000 Cash
1990 15,000,000 1,490,000 13,940,000 Cash
1991 15,000,000 1,060,000 15,000,000 Cash
1992 85,000,000 100,000,000 4,918,000 19,918,000 Cash
1993 100,000,000 10,934,000 30,852,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
1994 100,000,000 24,148,000 55,000,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 8)
1995 100,000,000 17,012,000 72,012,000 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
1996 100,000,000 6,197,237 78,209,237 Cash, Stock split (N1,000 to N1)
1997 100,000,000 200,000,000 36,317,763 114,527,000 Cash
1998 200,000,000 35,487,588 150,014,588 Cash and Bonus (1 for 10)
1999 300,000,000 500,000,000 29,985,414 180,000,002 Cash and Bonus (1 for 15)
2000 500,000,000 12,000,000 192,000,002 Cash
2001 500,000,000 63,598,223 255,598,225 Cash and Bonus (1 for 8)
2002 500,000,000 44,503,325 300,101,550 Cash and Bonus (1 for 6)
2003 500,000,000 1,000,000,000 103,565,104 403,666,654 Cash and Bonus (1 for 4)
2004 1,000,000,000 254,674,470 658,241,124 Cash and Bonus (1 for 9)
2005 1,000,000,000 2,000,000,000 198,566,308 856,907,432 Cash and Bonus (1 for 9)
2006 55,000,000,000 7,500,000,000 383,683,372 1,240,590,804 Cash
2007 7,500,000,000 3,945,781,353 5,186,372,157 Cash, Stock split (N1 to N0.50)
2008 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2009 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2010 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2011 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2012 7,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2013 5,000,000,000 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2014 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2015 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157
2016 12,500,000,000 5,186,372,157

Notices & Documents

Notices of 32nd Annual General Meeting

Notices of Court Ordered Meeting

Scheme Document

Annual reports

2018 Annual Report and Account

Download

2017 Annual Report and Account

Download

2016 Audited Financial Statements

Download

2016 Annual Report

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Highlight

Download

Financial Statement (1)

Download

Financial Statement (2)

Download

2015 Corporate Actions for the Financial year ended Dec. 31, 2015

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Statement

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Statement

Download

Annual Report

Download

Financial Highlight

Download

Annual Report (1)

Download

Annual Report (2)

Download

Annual Accounts

Download

Unaudited quarterly results

Q1 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q2 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q1 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q2 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q3 Financial Statements (Unaudited)

Download

Q3 Financial Statement (unaudited)

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Statement

Download

2016 financial statements with signed pages

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Unaudited Results

Download

Q3 Financial Statement

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Results

Download

Q3 Financial Statement

Download

Q1 Financial Statement

Download

Half Year Results

Download

Unclaimed dividend

2007 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2008 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2009 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2010 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2011 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2012 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2013 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2014 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

2015 Dividend as at May 19, 2017

Continental Re Mandate Form